Statement from Angaza Iman Bahar

Greetings fellow Comrades, my name is Angaza Iman Bahar and for the past two decades I’ve been incarcerated within the Indiana Department of Corrections, known as prisoner Jimmy D. Jones DOC #891782. The prison experience has transformed me from a petty criminal to a conscious-minded prisoner activist dedicated to fighting for the liberation of all oppressed people.

Because I’ve chosen to take on this role, I’ve become the target of prison officials seeking to deny my existence as a human being. I am currently in the facility segregation unit, being held under administrative segregation status (A/S), not because I’ve violated any prison rules, but because i’ve chosen to speak out against the injustice being done towards the prisoner population. This has made me hated by prison officials, who have given the guards a green light to harass and abuse me without fear of consequences, a task far too many readily accept.

You might ask, why would people openly abuse their fellow human beings? The simple answer is, because they can. Amerikkka’s entire system is built on such abuses and it is hard to change the DNA. Prisoners are the most vulnerable group within Amerikkka due to our isolation from society and the stigma that is associated to us as being unworthy of society’s compassion.

Faced with such a reality we prisoners live under the constant threat of state sanctioned violence, especially those like myself who dare to resist the tyranny of an unjust system. Yet resist I shall and the scars I receive will be the medals earned in battle for a just and equal world.

Uhuru Sana (Freedom Now)

Angaza Iman Bahar

contact info:
Jimmy D. Jones #891782
PO Box 1111
Carlisle, IN 47838

This entry was posted in Angaza Iman Bahar, Prisoner Blogs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.